Searching 2025-2026 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Statutes below now include the actions of the 2026 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE
: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 16 : Education

Chapter 025 : Attendance and Discipline

Subchapter 003 : Compulsory Attendance

(Cite as: 16 V.S.A. § 1122)
  • § 1122. Students under six and over 16 years of age

    The parent or guardian of a child who is under six years of age or over 16 years of age who enrolls the child in kindergarten through grade 12 in a public school or approved independent school shall ensure that the child attends the school continually for the full number of school days of the term in which the child is enrolled. In case of such enrollment, the parent or guardian and the superintendent or designee or the head of school for an approved independent school or designee shall be under the laws and subject to the penalties relating to the attendance of children between six and 16 years of age. (Amended 1965, No. 46, § 2, eff. May 5, 1965; 2011, No. 58, § 2, eff. May 31, 2011; 2025, No. 122 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. July 1, 2026.)