Searching 2025-2026 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Statutes below now include the actions of the 2026 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE
: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 16 : Education

Chapter 025 : Attendance and Discipline

Subchapter 003 : Compulsory Attendance

(Cite as: 16 V.S.A. § 1126)
  • § 1126. Failure to attend; notice

    When a student between six and 16 years of age, who is not exempted from school attendance by one of the authorized individuals in accordance with section 1121 of this chapter, fails to enter school at the beginning of the academic year or, being enrolled, accumulates 20 or more unexcused absences within either the same school year or within the last 175 consecutive student attendance days, and when a student who is under six years of age or at least 16 years of age becomes enrolled in a public school in kindergarten through grade 12 and accumulates 20 or more unexcused absences either within the same school year or within the last 175 consecutive student attendance days, the principal shall notify the superintendent. For Vermont resident students, the head of school of an approved independent school or designee shall notify the superintendent of the student’s district of residence. Upon review of the truancy reporting protocol, the superintendent shall notify the truant officer and Centralized Intake and Emergency Services of the Department for Children and Families’ Family Services Division. (Amended 1965, No. 46, § 3, eff. May 5, 1965; 1975, No. 48, § 11, eff. April 15, 1975; 1999, No. 113 (Adj. Sess.), § 4; 2013, No. 92 (Adj. Sess.), § 121, eff. Feb. 14, 2014; 2025, No. 122 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. July 1, 2026.)